• Prime Minister of Nigeria The Prime Minister of Nig
  • Prime Minister of Nigeria

    The Prime Minister of Nig

    eria was the

    head of government of Nigeria from 1960 to 1966.

    History of the office

    When Nigeria gained independence from the United Kingdom on 1 October 1960, it originally had a parliamentary constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state.

    But in 1963, Nigeria ended its status as a Commonwealth Realm and became a

    republic . The head of state was the

    President , while the Prime Minister served as the head of government. In 1966, the office of prime minister was abolished (as the inaugural holder of the office, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa had been assassinated) and since then, Nigeria has been a Presidential republic with the President as the head of state and head of government.

    This section is empty. You can help by

    adding to it. (December 2013)

    Prime Minister of Nigeria (1960–1966)


    Northern People's Congress

    # Picture



    Took office

    Prime Minister of the Fed Nigeria


    Abubakar Tafawa Balewa


    1 October 1960

    Prime Minister of the Federa Nigeria


    Abubakar Tafawa Balewa


    1 October 1963 (A

    Post abolished (15 Janua Present)

    See also


    List of Governors-General of Nigeria

    List of heads of state of Nigeria

    Vice President of Nigeria

    Lists of incumbents

    External links

    No comments:

    Post a Comment